The Waiting Game: Countdown to Destruction

When it comes to bad weather, the worst part of it isn’t always the aftermath, it’s the lead-up. When you enough forewarning, the time it takes for the event to arrive can be nerve-racking. It isn’t like the movies, where the people get a warning only five minutes out, when it’s too late to do anything but run and hide. In reality, you have every TV channel that has a weather team, ready to be the first to report some sort of impending disaster. The further out the warning, the longer the the hysteria has to build. Waiting for the other shoe to drop is exhausting. I have no experience with hurricanes, so I am undecided as to whether or not I should panic. Then again, I have enough people doing that for me. Usually, when I panic, nothing happens, and vice versa. On the other hand, I seem to be Murphy’s puppet, so I think for now, I’ll just go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

